The 2018 Law Student Writing Competition in Cultural Heritage Law Winners

Wendy Dickieson is a junior litigation associate at Greenberg Traurig, LLP in New York. She received a B.A. in Art History from Wellesley College, and a J.D. from the University of Pennsylvania Law School, where she was founder and captain of the school’s Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court team, and initiated a partnership with the Penn Cultural Heritage Center at the Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, from which she received the inaugural certificate in Cultural Heritage Studies. 

Wendy's paper: Can Cuba and the United States Cooperate In Restituting Castro’s Looted Art Collection?

Matthew Rosendahl is a 2018 graduate of the William & Mary Marshall-Wythe School of Law, graduating summa cum laude. Matthew now clerks for the Honorable David J. Novak of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, with an offer to join the firm Hunton Andrews Kurth, LLP thereafter. 

Matthew's paper: Galactic Preservation and Beyond: A Framework for Protecting Cultural, Natural, and Scientific Heritage in Space

Information about next year's competition will be posted her in spring 2019.

Past Recipients

2017: Aaron Haines Cardozo School of Law; Casey J. Snyder University of Pittsburgh School of Law; Claire Stephens Chicago-Kent College of Law

2016: Laura Elizabeth Booth 
Georgetown University Law Center and 
Paige Marie Casaly New York University School of Law (Co-First Place); 
Kate Falconer Washington University in St. Louis School of Law (Honorable Mention)

2015: Heather Scruggs, South Texas College of Law

2014: Anne Horn Baroody, University of Georgia School of Law

2013: Lauren Harkey, UNC School of Law

 Salome Kiwara-Wilson, DePaul University College of Law

2011: Laurie Frey, Columbia Law School

2010: Kelly Culbertson, Case Western Reserve University School of Law (First Place); Rebecca Menke, Cardozo School of Law (Second Place)

2009: Amelia Sargent, Stanford University Law School (First Place);  Melanie Greer, DePaul University College of Law(Second Place)

2008: Ethan Plaut, University of Colorado Law School (First Place); Bryan Stockton of Georgetown Law School(Second Place)

2007: James A. Wawrzyniak, Harvard Law School (First Place); Dorothy Schmidt, Lewis and Clark Law School(Second Place)

                ©2018. Lawyers' Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation                

          Contact Us  Terms of Use  Privacy Policy                    

                                2600 Virginia Ave., NW, Suite 1000, Washington, D.C. 20037                               

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software